An Afternoon at Shuttermaster Pro- The One-Stop Shop for Photographers, Enthusiasts and Coffee-lovers!

And the winner is…
I like joining online contests for those quality brands that not a lot of people are aware of. That’s probably one of the reasons why I win often.

Last March, Spyder Philippines launched their Datacolor #ILoveSpyder5 contest online to promote their product. Not a lot of photographers are aware of this calibration tool, so I suppose only a few of those serious in Photography put an effort into the contest. I really wanted to win this prize, so I made sure to follow the instructions, and fortunately my entry got picked!

I have learned about Datacolor Spyder from no less than Jo Avila. He is one of the Philippines’ most respected photographers and instructors, and a Datacolor Spyder endorser at the time I took my Basic Photography Course under him in July 2013. I’ll talk more about the Datacolor Spyder in the next blog entries. For now, I’ll tell you about this cool one-stop shop for photographers, enthusiasts and coffee-lovers!

img_9493
Shuttermaster Pro is located at #118 Sct. Lazcano St., Brgy Sacred Heart, Quezon City
I went to Shuttermaster Pro yesterday to pick up my prize. As I entered the shop I noticed the charming rustic chic interiors and can’t help but be inspired by this concept store.

There are black and white photos displayed on the walls next to the flatscreen TV. The console adorned with a typewriter, a couple of books, a picture frame and an old-school radio gives a nostalgic touch to its lounge area. The set of vintage luggage gives an even more classic appeal.

img_9441
Shuttermaster Pro’s Lounge Area.
I advised the lady on the desk that I came to claim my prize from Aperture, so while I waited, I looked around the shop. Oh my! It seems like they have everything a photographer would ever need and want! They have everything from cameras, lenses, accessories and even a printing service!

I know that Sir Jo Avila holds office there, thankfully he was in the shop and I had a chat with my former teacher. I seldom edit photos but as I progress with Photography and Digital Marketing, I am now benefiting from taking that course from him! I would often review my notes for color correction when I need to release teasers and or create tarps for KilometerZeroPH.

img_9451
My Basic Photography Mentor, Jo Avila.
After getting my prize from Aperture Trading Corp., I went back to chat with Sir Jo, and he gave me tips on installing and calibration. I must admit being excited to install and finally give my images more attention as I level-up my game.

img_9447
Getting my Spyder5 Express from Aperture Trading Corp.
I noticed a cafe inside the shop, and it’s too inviting for me to pass-up.

img_9446

Cafe Litrato or Shutter Cafe is a photography-inspired coffee shop with jargon written above the counter. As you wait for your order, you can marvel at the old-school cameras on display.

img_9488

img_9485

Pentax K1000
The classic 35mm film, single-lens reflex camera Asahi Pentax K1000 is on display at the @shutter_cafe . A quick wiki search showed that this camera was manufactured by Asahi Optical Co. from 1976 to 1997, originally in Japan. The K1000’s longevity makes it a historically-significant camera. It eventually sold over 3 Million Units. Do you know anyone who owns one of these?

img_9487
I enjoyed a cup of brewed Sagada Arabica and a slice of carrot cake as I planned for the coming weeks. It’s such a perfect combination!

img_9481

As I re-brand my blog and manage my business, I know I’ll be editing my archive photos and will be releasing more travel photos soon.

img_9480

I plan on sharing my experience with the Datacolor Spyder 5 Express. So keep you posted, and let’s learn together!

If you’d like to get your hands on your very own Spyder calibration tools, you may also visit Shuttermaster Pro at  #118 sct. Dr. Lazcano St. Brgy. Sacred Heart Quezon City.

img_9478

This is not a paid advertisement. Super excited lang talaga ako sa Spyder5 Express! Time to level-up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

