Tambayan Sa Kanto: A Gastronomic Tour at the Heart of Ortigas.

kantoPasig City, Philippines — Upon hearing the name, Tambayan Sa Kanto, I thought the restaurant was another cozy yuppie resto. When I Googled it and saw some popular street food served in plates, I assumed that it’s another typical Filipino restaurant. But as I entered Tambayan Sa Kanto, or TSK, I immediately thought that the name is a disconnect to the ambiance. The white walls and posh interiors would make you think that it’s far too elegant to be a tambayan, but to my surprise, the dishes they serve remind me of home-cooked meals and my travels.

I started with a chocolate ice cream shake while waiting for the appetizers. While everyone on the table was so busy with taking photos of the KBL (Kadyos, Baboy at Langka), an Ilonggo soup, I  got my self a serving and satisfy my curiosity. I liked the tender meaty part of the bulalo. The soup was sour, similar to sinigang; but since I’m not into unripe langka, I didn’t finish it all up before trying the next dish. When the Chicharon Liempo was served,  I went on munching on those tiny bits of crispy pork strips with achara.

Alas! The main dishes arrived. The Crispy Bagnet and Crispy Tadyang ng Baka (ribs) were really good, that aside from the Ensaladang Filipino, I just had to have beer with it! The owner, Ms. Margarett Streeda, told us that her family also makes the bagnet, as her roots are from Ilocos. Some of the dishes served in TSK are also heirloom recipes from her grandmother.

One of my favorites was the Coconut Crusted Shrimp with Chutney. I’m imagining myself by the beach as the crispy crust of coconuts reveal the tender, fresh shrimp! I also dipped the Bagnet and Tadyang in their special Chutney, and it’s just heaven with every bite! The Baked Tilapia & Laing was as a great pair. It brings back memories of my trips to Bicol.

We were so full, but there’s always room for dessert. We had a nice serving of Leche Flan before the finale. I never knew that Halo-Halo can be made into Turon; so I was surprised that they made that twist to our favorite meriendas. The playful taste of the beans, ube ice cream and crispy caramelized lumpia wrapper, was just divine! And I now have another instant favorite!

Happy Endings with Filipino Desserts.
The delightful Chocolate Milk Shake, Classic Leche Flan with Macapuno and the Halo-Halo Turon – a playful twist was a happy ending to the delightful gastronomic tour.

I initially thought that the fine interiors was a disconnect to the name and the food they serve. But now, I get it. True to their vision, Tambayan Sa Kanto is a place for eating one’s way around the Philippines. It’s like a gastronomic tour of authentic Filipino Dishes! TSK is somewhere I could easily take my friends, colleagues and clients for a delightful meal, and have them taste the famous Pinoy Food from the provinces just right here in the metro.

Tambayan Sa Kanto Restaurant (Authentic Regional Filipino Cuisine) At The Podium Mall.
G/F. The Podium Mall. ADB Avenue, Ortigas Centre. Mandaluyong City
Tel: 4779045 / 5461888 (For Reservation)
For Delivery: Call 2121212 (TwoAnyone Delivery.) or text to 09182121212 & an agent will call you back

Leave a Reply

