KM0 – A Saturday Afternoon Photo Walk at Rizal Park (Luneta)

Dsc_9089
Matt pingged me over FB chat a few weeks ago and suggested for us to have a shoot.

This should have been done on a Sunday, but due to schedule changes, we had to push through last Saturday. Several friends cancelled out, ahead of time, but we decided to push through.

I had only 1 1/2 hour sleep since Thursday night. So I had to take a nap before going to meet my MLB kids. I woke up at 2:15 and quickly took a bath. When I am almost prepped up, I read Greg’s SMS that he got injured and that he won’t be able to make it. I also thought Bryce is cancelling out as well. Good thing he and Matt was still in Market! Market! So, I asked them if they can wait for me, we can push through with the photo walk.

I arrived at Market! Market! around 3:30 PM. The sun was still high so the shadows won’t be as dramatic at Bonifacio High Street. So I suggested that we go to KM0, and walk there before catching the sunset at Baywalk.

It was a nice Saturday afternoon with clear skies and warm weather.

Dsc_9042Dsc_8934Dsc_8951Dsc_8990Dsc_9002Dsc_9004Dsc_9010Dsc_9083Dsc_9054Dsc_9062Dsc_9042Dsc_9099
I remember going there to Rizal Park with my family when I was a kid. My dad used to bring us there during New Year when we still lived in Bacoor, Cavite.

This is the second time I have been to Kilometer 0 in the last two years. At least now, I had more time to take photos and appreciate the place.

Every Kilometer Marker in Luzon and the rest of the Philippines is marked with the road distance from KM0. After my first KM photo in Subic, I thought about making marker photos a staple in my travel shoots  & blog entries.

Armed with my old Nikon D40, I took the walk slowly and adjusted my Manual Settings as we go. I was the most talkative among us three. And I really had a fun time with them. I’m looking forward to our next photo walk!

Here are some of my best shots. I had a few minor edits on some photos, but the rest are original .jpeg shots since I don’t have the patience to edit them in photoshop. Please post your critique on my shots. I’d love to hear from you.

Dsc_9080Dsc_8959Dsc_8970Dsc_8971Dsc_9035Dsc_9039Dsc_9038Dsc_9050Dsc_9059Dsc_9092Dsc_9114

Leave a Reply

