Bahay ni Joe

My family moved to Calamba Laguna immediately after my 6th grade graduation.

During exams, my high school friends and I usually stay in the shrine’s garden in between test schedules. I was reminiscing those high school days as I strolled along the shrine.

Here are recent photos of the Rizal Shrine in Calamba, Laguna. This is a replica Jose Rizal’s birthplace – his parent’s house.

Dsc_5122

Dsc_5026

Dsc_5042

Dsc_5047

Dsc_5060

Dsc_5061

Dsc_5064

Dsc_5076

Dsc_5027

Dsc_5107

Dsc_5108

Dsc_5111

Dsc_5120

I am delighted to see that the formerly empty gallery is now filled with paintings by Calambenos. Here’s one of my favofites:
Dsc_5090

I found his famous quotation under the walkway from Rizal’s well going to the stairs.

Dsc_5117

Leave a Reply

